Online brands have become more significant in this new digital age. During one of my classes, we talked about online brands and what they should look like. The questions I will be answering are: what purpose does your online brand currently serve for you, where are your main presences, what functions do they serve at this moment, what do you recommend for revising and improving your brand, how do your suggestions relate back to Miller’s text, what would he recommend, and what is your position on the way online brands should be constructed? As an example, I will be using my own online brand. So, here is a little analysis of what my online brand is and how I should be changing it.

  1. What purpose does your online brand currently serve for you?

My online brand currently serves as a way to express my teenage/ adult self. My online presence is mainly on the social media sites like Twitter,

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 9.21.26 PM FacebookScreen Shot 2017-05-14 at 9.15.41 PM

and Instagram.Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 9.19.33 PM

These sites provide me with entertainment and a bit of stress release.

  1. Where are your main presences?

My main presence is on Twitter. I do have an Instagram and a Facebook account but I don’t post as often on those as I do on Twitter. Other places that I have a presence on, but are in the works, are LinkedIn, WordPress and YouTube.

  1. What functions do they serve at this moment?

The biggest presence I have is on my social media accounts. They are a place for me to say what I feel and to like or retweet things that I relate to. I also use these accounts, mainly Twitter, to see what  people are up to, see new posts or tweets about dogs (because I love them) and to look for videos/ posts that could be informational or funny.(how adorable is this puppy?!)Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 9.27.25 PM

  1. What do you recommend for revising and improving your brand?

I think I need to start aiming my online brand more towards the professional side. My accounts were clean for the most part, the pictures and things that I said online were appropriate. I still need to pay attention to the things that I do put on my accounts, whether that is pictures or word posts. Anything that employers would consider inappropriate I should either remove or hide for my eyes or friends only. To improve my brand I need to make a bigger impact with my LinkedIn and WordPress accounts. Those will be big factors that can attract future employers and to connect with people in my field.

  1. How do your suggestions relate back to Miller’s text?

Miller said everything we do – blog, Facebook pages, your Twitter feed and your YouTube videos – all build on your website. He also mentioned that, “your online face must reflect what you are, what you do, and how you do it; it is how current and potential customers view you and interface with you.” My suggestions for improving my brand follow the idea of building my brand to attract other people, whether they be employers or customers.

  1. What would he recommend?

I think Miller would recommend building on a personal website, as well as marketing it effectively towards customers. He suggests interacting with people to help build a community. This is especially helpful if we are already a part of a company and have something to offer them. We need to be able to think like a customer and to interest them in what we have to offer.

  1. What is your position on the way online brands should be constructed?

I believe online brands should express a person’s interests along with the field of study or job they are engaged in. Not all social media posts are going to be appropriate all the time, but most of them should be. People should have the freedom to express their personal opinions without fear of reprimand, yet also need to realize that any post will always be there for everyone, including future employers, to see. No one is perfect and college students definitely aren’t, but they also need to keep in mind the message they are sending online and to consider what employers may be looking for.

Online brands are important now, more than ever! Online presences need to be analyzed and shaped according to a more professional standard. Future employers and customers need to be kept in mind because your various online presences all lead up to your website or company. This doesn’t mean that you can’t post what you want, it just means that you need to think about what you post before you hit publish.

