In my web fundamentals class, we were assigned a project last week to create a how-to video for YouTube. I created a video that talks about the components involved in making the perfect Facebook post.

I had previously read about how to create the perfect social media post for any account while looking up information on what to do to get more interactions. As Webmaster for HC Media, I’m involved in co-running the social media accounts for HC Media. My professor had sent me a PDF talking about social media posting (How to Create the Perfect Post on Any Network by Simply Measured) and after looking at the PDF I thought it would make a great tutorial.

To begin creating the video I developed a Storyboard.

The Storyboard had empty squares available for drawing pictures of what I wanted the scene to look like. In my pictures I included different props and stick figures that represented myself. Underneath the squares were blank lines for writing bits of my future script. This made it easier to plan out what the scene should look like and what I would want to say without writing everything out. The storyboard provided me with a good first step of planning before going more in depth with my actual Script.

The second step was making the Script.

The Script had several components as you could see in the pictures. The copy, shot description, notes and storyboard sections were the most important. The copy section allowed for my script to be fully written out for each scene. The shot description section permitted explanation of the camera angles and shots that I wanted to have in my video. The notes section provided a space for any side comments about changes to be made for a scene or certain movements. The storyboard section was for drawing the appearance of each shot again.

A difficulty I faced while planning this was having too much information to fit in the original one minute and thirty second cap the video had. My professor allowed for an extension of the length so all the information could be presented. Approximately timing out each scene helped a little, but I knew I needed to talk at a faster pace to get the information across quickly. I wouldn’t say the pace was too fast, but I didn’t waste a lot of time by having dead air (no talking.)

Next I began filming. I set up photography lights in a computer lab and positioned myself at the table in the middle of the room. This to supplied me with different camera angles. Then I arranged my phone onto a tripod and connected a USB microphone to get better sound. I also had my printed script and quickly memorized the parts I needed to say on camera. Most of my video was done with voiceover and a recording of my screen using QuickTime. I spent a couple hours filming because I wanted to make sure I got what I needed when I had the equipment. I captured several takes of myself and the screen movement in case there was something I didn’t like in a shot. I’m also a bit of a perfectionist so if a little thing was off or if I didn’t like the way I pronounced something, I filmed again.

The editing process didn’t take as long. I uploaded my screen recordings, audio and phone footage into Adobe Premiere. I laid down my footage and matched it up with the audio. I added a title slide, text bubbles with step information, a final thoughts slide and finished up with adding in background music. The title slide, text bubbles and final thoughts slide helped to guide the viewer through the video and to match what they were hearing with the key words of each step or piece of information. The background music helped to fill any of the dead space I had when I wasn’t talking. It’s important to make sure everything looks the way you want before you export and upload it onto YouTube. So make sure you double check everything!

I plan on making more videos featuring the components involved in making the perfect social media post, most likely Twitter and Instagram. I could improve my next two videos by cutting down on the time it takes me to film and to remove some of the items in a few of my shots. I had noticed some posters hanging up in the room that could be a little distracting for the viewer.

To promote my video, I plan on putting the link on my Twitter and Facebook because those accounts will get the most interactions with a video link.  Adding a link in this blog post wouldn’t hurt either so..

Here’s a link to my final product! How to Create the Perfect Social Media Post

Making this video was a fun way to add to my online brand. This is a major product that can be used on several of my accounts and as a tutorial video for future HC Media members. The video will help guide them on how to structure their media posts. Don’t forget to check out the video and to subscribe to my channel!

 

 

 

 

 

 

